Dear Member of Congress:

Our diverse faith traditions are guided by principles of compassion, justice, dialogue, and stewardship. We believe that it is the moral responsibility of our nation – and our sacred task as people of faith – to act to address climate change. We feel a special calling to pray and work to overcome the divisions and fears that have prevented action to address one of the greatest threats to current and future generations.

In this spirit, we welcome the resolution introduced by Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Rep. Carlos Curbelo (FL-26), Rep. Ryan Costello (PA-6), and fourteen other Republican members of Congress on March 15th that affirms the impacts of climate change, acknowledges that human activity has contributed to these changes, and calls on Congress to work constructively on solutions. We see this resolution as a much-needed step towards continuing bipartisan resolve for action within Congress. We encourage every member in the House of Representatives to co-sponsor this resolution.

Climate change is so great a challenge that it transcends political, faith, and social divides. As people of faith, we are rooted in the practice of emphasizing our common values in order to advance cooperation and overcome partisanship. All voices are needed to solve climate change, and the resolution provides a space for the House to join the dialogue.

We thank those members of Congress who are co-sponsoring the resolution. We ask that other members consider co-sponsoring this resolution as a statement of our shared moral obligation. We look forward to working with you in the coming months to foster a spirit of bipartisan dialogue within Congress so that together, we can create solutions to address climate change for the well-being of our common future.

Blessings,

Diane Randall
Executive Secretary

Friends Committee on National Legislation

Rev. Paula Dempsey

Director of Partnership Relations

Alliance of Baptists

Sister Simone Campbell, SSS

Executive Director

NETWORK Lobby for Catholic Social Justice

Joan Marie Steadman, CSC

Executive Director

Leadership Conference of Women Religious

Dr. Steve Timmermans
Executive Director

Christian Reformed Church in North America

Kyle Meyaard-Schaap

National Organizer and Spokesperson Young Evangelicals for Climate Action

Jim Wallis

President and Founder

Sojourners

David Bernstein
President and CEO

Jewish Council for Public Affairs

Rabbi Jonah Dov Pesner

Director

Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism

Reverend John L. McCullough

President and CEO
Church World Service

Rabbi Fred Scherlinder Dobb

Chair of the Board

The Coalition on the Environment and Jewish

Life

Sister Patricia McDermott, RSM

President

Sisters of Mercy of the Americas

Irene Keim

Chair of the Board

Unitarian Universalist Ministry for Earth

J Ron Byler

Executive Director

Mennonite Central Committee U.S.

Rev. Peter Morales

President

Unitarian Universalist Association

Stan Becker

Clerk

Quaker Earthcare Witness

Rev. Jimmie Ray Hawkins

Director

Office of Public Witness, Presbyterian Church

(U.S.A.)

Rev. Sally Bingham President and Founder Interfaith Power and Light

Reverend Tim Mulroy, SSC U.S. Regional Director

Missionary Society of St. Columban

Sharon E. Watkins*

General Minister and President Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)

The Rev. Fletcher Harper

Executive Director

GreenFaith

Shan Cretin

General Secretary

American Friends Service Committee

Josh Zinner

CEO

Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility

Rebecca Linder Blachly

Director, Office of Government Relations

The Episcopal Church

The Rev. Amy E. Reumann

Director, Advocacy

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Sandy Sorensen

Director, Washington Office

United Church of Christ, Justice and Witness

Ministries

Bishop W. Darin Moore

Presiding Prelate of the Mid-Atlantic Episcopal

District

AME Zion Church

Marie Dennis

Co-President

Pax Christi International

Adin Strauss

General Director

Soka Gakkai International-USA Buddhist

Association (SGI-USA)

Patrick Carolan

Executive Director

Franciscan Action Network

Colin Saxton* General Secretary Friends United Meeting

Gerry Lee Executive Director Maryknoll Office for Global Concerns

Very Reverend Kevin J. Mullen, O.F.M. Provincial Minister Holy Name Province - Franciscan Friars Sr. Mary Ann Smith Social Concerns Eastern Region, USA Maryknoll Sisters

Shantha Ready Alonso Executive Director Creation Justice Ministries

^{*}Affiliation listed for identification purposes only